Show up in 2014

Image

 

Happy New Year!

2014 is the year of getting it done. No more excuses. No more time wasting.

2013 was the foundation. I worked hard last year. It started with graduation and ended with a wonderful job writing for children’s television. Along the way there were some ups and downs. Somethings that had a lot of promise, didn’t happen in the end. I realised one thing.

Nothing great ever came easy. If it did, everyone would do it.

Last year I realised I wasn’t that good. I wasn’t the best writer I could be. It’s my craft and my one true joy. Somewhere in the middle of the year, I chose to be better. To read more. To write more. To start that bloody book. To stop being lazy (I was).

I did! I even managed to win my first literature award for a children’s short story. It paid off. 

I also took time off for my family and friends, to spend time with the people I love the most. I had a wonderful Christmas and an end of year holiday in Seoul and Jeju in Korea with the love of my life (the picture above is the top of Namsan Tower, Korea). I even got to see snow fall for the first time in more than a decade. It was magical. 

However, there’s more to do. I know I’m not where I want to be just yet. I want to provide for my love ones and family more this year. There’s more mistakes to make and more growing to do. 

Choose to make your 2014 special.

It’s the year to get it done. In whatever you do – make a choice. Choose to complete. To go that extra mile. To work harder and faster and longer than everyone else. 

Show up.

It will pay off.

 Image

 

 

One thought on “Show up in 2014

Leave a Reply

