You are Somebody (in your own story)

Image

Recently a person told me, “Nobody will ever tell you that you’re a somebody. Don’t undervalue yourself. You’re a somebody when you say you are.”

Many times we think of ourselves as ‘wannabes’ or ‘amateurs’. We’re looking for validation. Some measure of success that will proclaim to others who we are. We don’t really have the confidence to say we already are what we want to be. It’s frightening. Scary.

But is it true?

Does 100,000 Twitter followers make me successful? What about 1001 email subscribers to my blog? 999 Tumblr followers must mean I’m successful…right?

Whether you aspire to be a writer, a producer, an accountant or a business man – there a moments in life where we all share that feeling. We look at other people’s success. We compare ourselves to them and wonder, “How come I’m not there yet?”

It’s taken me a while to realise that it doesn’t take a number to define success. It  doesn’t take tons of awards or testimonials. It just takes one moment. One single moment when you make a choice. In other words, it takes a plan.

A 24/7, 365 day plan that is. It’s about dedicating yourself to what you want to achieve and just heading in that direction. It’s a start.

Just don’t stop. Keep going.

I don’t consider myself amazingly successful at the moment. I have no major Hollywood credits to my name, no book deals, no million dollar bank account and no Mercedes-Benz to back it up. However, I do feel I have one thing.

I feel I’m a somebody.

I may not have all of those things just yet (don’t get me wrong, I’m aiming for a mansion haha)…but I have little things.Little things that have changed and touched — on teeeny weeny scale — some people’s lives.

Not in a big way — but little successes. Sometimes, it’s just about starting.

Here are my starts:

I have a story that’s currently in development at a major television network. It’s a start.

I have two fully completed novels that are awaiting to be edited. It’s a start.

I have a blog that I feel connects with people on some level and is the beginning of something perhaps even greater. It’s a start.

I had an idea this morning about a young girl that changes the life of a murderous cyborg. Hey…it’s a start.

Starting is the hardest thing. Just remember you’re a somebody. And the more starts you have, the more possible endings you will create for your own story. So here’s to starts.

Why don’t you tell me yours? 🙂

3 thoughts on “You are Somebody (in your own story)

  1. My starts would be I started looking for agencies to send my book to. I started a reality show on YouTube, and finally I started a blog months ago that has had some success.
    Btw all of those dreams of yours I believe they will come true sooner than you think; because you’re very ambitious. 🙂

    1. Thank you Chelsea! I saw your first episode on Youtube! Love the idea and the concept! Your enthusiasm and dedication to your craft is infectious, so I’m also sure you will find an agent and get published very soon. I have a few rejection slips myself but the manuscripts I sent out were far from ready. I’m ambitious…but sometimes I jump the gun! Thank you for commenting!

      Oh oh! And your outtakes were pretty damn funny! I think you should incorporate them more into future episodes! Kinda like a more docu/mockumentary feel (The Office etc).

      1. Really well thank you for watching the first two episodes of my show I really appreciate it. 🙂 I hear that a lot about being rejected in the beginning so I’m trying to expect it. I think you have a good idea with that “docu/mockumentary” I was thinking about doing that more often as the show continues. Thanks for all of your suggestions. 🙂

Leave a Reply

