Turning Your Childhood (and Problems) into your Passion

I have a problem. 

I’m a Creative Producer for one reason: Steven Spielberg’s Jurassic Park (and Michael Crichton’s original book). It literally changed my life – as it did with millions of other young boys and girls in 1993 (I watched it on VHS when I was 8..but you get the idea).

I have over the years channeled my creativity and passion into dinosaurs, filmmaking and animation. A weird combination I know! But now, as a Creative Producer, I’m moving into a project that will combine all three! I’m attempting to take something from my childhood, develop it, market it, and create an entrepreneurial project out of it. And maybe even something more.

So the question is: how do I transpose my ‘childhood ‘ into a future passion (and even a business venture)???

The answer to that, I feel, is the key to a fulfilling life. The relationship between making your passion a reality, and making that reality something that can make money as well — it something that isn’t new. We all want to know the secret!

Maybe the answer also lies in living a life that emotionally connects with others. Maybe it’s subconscious in most, but it applies to any field of study or profession. When you are a child – you really only do what you are passionate about. Maybe you liked to cook as a child, or paint or run around the garden until your legs gave out. They are all still passions.

As you get older, these parts of yourself can sometimes get bogged down by adult responsibilities and that little thing called life. But you always know what you’re passionate about, because when you’re doing something you truly don’t enjoy, you pretty much know it from the get go. For Albert Einstein, his childhood passion equated to future success. It was the act of being curious.

I have no special talents. I am only passionately curious.” 
– Albert Einstein,

The next following months I am going to attempt to develop my childhood passion into a project with commercial viability.

That’s right. I’ve always been told to do something in life that you are passionate about. Because when you’re passionate about something (a job, a project) it never really feels like work anyway.

For me, I believe your endeavors need to originate from a very personal place. It’s a rule of mine with all of my personal projects.

So these next few months, I’m going to undertake a project that combines all of these elements. Maybe it’ll be a success. Maybe it won’t. The important thing is that I’m making a dream a reality. And that act, in my books, is what life is all about.

So what’s personal to me…and what’s my problem?

ImageAhhh…here we go: Dinosaurs…with Problems. What is it? Well, in essence, it’s an animated brand.

Similar to other animated franchise brands like Uglydolls, Mr.Men and Awkward Animals (from creators Wong Fu Productions), it’s a series of 20 colourful and zany prehistoric characters that all share a similar story: they’re dinosaurs with chronic problems!

I’ll be documenting and developing the process of creating Dinosaurs…with Problems over the next few months. And hopefully I’ll uncover the secret to that relationship with all of you. I hope you’ll be a part of the process.

Sounds interesting? Tell me what you think?

Do you think there’s a difference between pursuing a passion and a job? Or is passion not the most important element in life?

🙂 Do subscribe to my wordpress, tumblrtwitter and Google Plus for more content as I develop this lil’ series.  I’m excited about it and I’d love to have some of your thoughts!

8 thoughts on “Turning Your Childhood (and Problems) into your Passion

  1. Sounds very interesting!!! I feel you, i love sketching and i always say i will start sketching a series of my blue monster Jack…. but i never do. 😦 If i start i ‘ll let you know! You are doing a good job, good luck and keep it up! 😀

    1. Thanks ioanna!!! Your Blue Monster Jack sounds like a great idea. Is it on your blog? I’ll be sure to check it out!!

      And make sure you create that series! Remember, it’ll never be anything if it isn’t written down. The first and biggest step, is to get it on paper! Magical things happen after that 🙂

      1. My pleasure Kane! Putting efford to what you love doing is so worth it!
        No, it isn’t on my blog yet….. But you are an inspiration, maybe i ‘ll draw some of my monster these days! 😀

    1. Thanks!! Yeah – I believe that there is a certain authenticity when you transpose your childhood into everything you do as an adult. It just makes it more specific, unique…and fun! 🙂

      1. Agreed! fun is always a bonus! you remind me of a quote ‘Every child is an artist. The problem is how to remain an artist once we grow up.’ Picasso must have said that… he said a lot of things.

Leave a Reply

