Write Everyday Please Kane

 For those of you who don’t know, I’m currently pursuing the last year of my formal education.

I love stories. I’ve made it a part of my life. I don’t think I can do anything else.

Trust me. I’ve tried. It wasn’t pretty.

This past year and through my previous work as a Producer, Writer and Director (of mostly small and modest projects), I’ve come to realise that I need to buckle down.

I need to make writing and storytelling a part of who I am.

I don’t think I’ve been doing that as much as I should.

Simply put – I haven’t been writing EVERYDAY!

(In my head: You phoney!)

This simple reality has made me feel a little bit like a crock. I write – a lot – but not everyday. I can write more. I can perfect myself more. I can have fun more too.

 
I’m making a new pledge to myself.
 

I’m coming to the end of my first year. I have a very well needed three month break.

I’ve never written for three months, everyday, straight. I’ve written – essays, papers, notes…but not something creative for that long.

I’m making it a point to do it.

A promise.

Even if I spontaneously combust with my hands still on the keyboard!

For anyone wanting to be better, you have to put in the hard work. Being good is not enough. Being great is the ultimate goal.

Talent can only push you so far before our dear enemy Mr. Procrastination comes along.

Talent without the hours of slogging away at your craft isn’t going to push you to be better.

I want to be a great writer.

I want to have a firm grasp on everything. I don’t have to be good at everything.

I just need to find a new voice.

So that’s my promise. I’m going to blog (over these three months), tweet (about writing of course!), restrain myself from visiting social media sites and above all…

WRITE

Have a good day 🙂

Leave a Reply

