I like Cats

I like cats. I’ve never been ashamed of that. Dogs are cool. Cats…they’re just cooler.

I used to have a tortoise coloured cat called Major – named after my uncle’s cat that was legendary for his loyalty as well as his outrageous personality.

Major  eventually ran away as soon as he got old enough to..well..mate. I remember seeing him a few months after he ran away when walking to school, a furry mess under a car down my street, eyes wide with panic, paws outstretched.

It was clear he still recognized me…but was wild now. I think it was the first friend I lost to “madness” (or hormones).

The reason for my recent obsession with cats: the story for my next book. I’ve written four novels to date; all very different and all fermenting in my drawers and hard drives (where they should be).

I’ve taken three of them as purely practice – something I had to get out of my system in order to move on to the more “professional” work.

However, I don’t want to stop writing. I’m a very slow writer. I’m an even slower reader. I need to write this new story because I think it’ll be good for me. I feel I’m getting somewhere.

I’m in an absorbent mode right now; I’ve got a little experience under my belt and now I’m venturing into the good stuff.

I’ve also never really ventured into a teen first person fantasy tale before. This is new territory.

And yes -it involves cats. Well, it involves one cat, a bird and a lizard. I guess that is all I can say right now.

I’m new at this blogging thing, so I’m not sure if it is “proper” to give away plot details to your new stories.

Plus, I don’t really have a plot or details to speak of. Should have thought of that. I think I’ll keep what I do have, on the down low for the meantime.

I’m pretty set on this idea but I’m still wondering if it is worth the time. I think I still have to unearth why I’m writing about felines in the first place.

There’s just something about an animal that can, in a mythical sense, live nine times. If you could live nine times, what would you do?

Leave a Reply

